Office of County Clerk & Register of Deeds

Marriage Licenses - Procedure to Obtain

To obtain a marriage license in Kalamazoo County, the application process is done through the Kalamazoo County Clerk's Office, 201 W. Kalamazoo Avenue, Room #103. The information for the application is entered online (click on link below). After the online portion is finished and you have secured the confirmation number (ON-YYYY-####) you must appear in person at the County Clerk's Office to complete the process.

License is NOT available for pick up on weekends and legal holidays.


  1. Persons 18 years of age and older may contract marriage in Michigan without parents' consent.
  2. For purposes of the marriage application, residency is determined by a current valid driver's license/state-issued ID reflecting your correct Kalamazoo county address:
    1. If one or both persons is a Michigan resident, they apply in the county where either applicant lives. This license is valid throughout the state.
    2. If both persons are out-of-state residents, they MUST apply in the county where they plan to be married. The license is valid in that county only.
  3. The following is required of BOTH PERSONS at the time of application:
    1. Valid driver's license/state-issued ID showing correct address.
    2. If under 21 years of age, CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATES are required.
    3. Other required information includes:
      1. Full names of each person
      2. Birth dates and places (city & state)
        Complete address (no P.O. boxes)
        How many times previously married
        Parents' full birth names
        Parents' STATES of birth (or country if not born in United States)
        Both applicants' social security number
    4. Fee per couple: $20 for Michigan residents; $30.00 for out-of-state residents.
  4. The marriage must be solemnized within 30 days of the license becoming valid.
  5. Persons 16 and 17 years of age must show a CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATE; written consent of one parent or legal guardian, who must appear at the time of application, is required. If parents are divorced, custodianship must be proven. A driver's license or photo ID of the consenting parent must be presented.
  6. Additional information or documentation may be required before this office will complete the marriage license application.
  7. A 3-day waiting period for a marriage license to be issued is required by Michigan law. This 3-day waiting period is considered satisfied if the online application is completed more than three days prior to coming into the Clerk's office to pay the application fee and complete the process.

On-Line Marriage Application